Oregon has becomes the fifth state to raise the legal tobacco possession age to 21. Oregon’s Governor Kate Brown signed the legislation raising the legal tobacco possession age into law on Aug. 9. The new law goes into effect on Jan. 1, 2018, according to the Association Press (AP).
This new legislation impacts the sale of traditional tobacco products as well as vapor products. The new law also takes aim at retailers who sell tobacco products to underaged customers. Oregon lawmakers, like those in other states, pointed out addiction to tobacco products typically starts early and among youth, thus a higher purchasing age could help cut down on the number of people using tobacco products. Retailers who are found to be in violation of the law and sell to underage customers could face fines starting at $50 but could face fines up to $1,000 for multiple violations.
Oregon joins a list of other states that have adopted similar laws including Maine, Hawaii, New Jersey and California.
For all the latest news on new federal and state-level legislation impacting tobacco retailers, visit natocentral.org.